tinyCopter is ALIVE! (sorta)

Progress! This is exciting. After struggling with a pesky compiler issue, I managed to get an LED blinking on my tinyCopter control board. Yes, I managed to get a 32MHz microcontroller with 256K of flash and 16K of RAM to blink an LED. Good use of resources there folks.

Anyway, the issue that I have been having – and it is still there, trust me – is in the creation of a custom board definition for Xmegaduino for my specific setup. Xmegaduino comes with a couple of options for boards, but all of them use the xmega A1. I have a xmega A3. I didn’t think that there would be any issues because the devices in the A series all have the same basic peripherals, just different pin-counts. The problem, however would soon show up.

I got the board definition finished and just copied the pins_arduino header file from a Sparkfun variant just to see if my variant would compile. Cue the obscure compile error! I looked at the error and it said ‘TCF1’ undeclared. What?! The blink sketch I tried compiled just fine for the Sparkfun board, why won’t it work for mine?!  I went back and took a look at the only thing that I changed in my board defintion from the Sparkfun one. It was the MCU type, obviously. I had changed it to atxmega256a3, because that is the device that I am using. When I changed it back to atxmega128a1, which is what the Sparkfun board has, the code compiled perfectly. Then I went digging through the avrdude header files for various devices and found the one for my xmega a3. I searched ‘TCF1’ and it was RIGHT THERE! I don’t know what the issue is, so if anyone else does, please let me know.

You probably read that and though that I never got anything to work. The issue is still there,  so what I did was set the board in Xmegaduino to the Sparkfun one, found the compiled .hex file, and burned it to my chip using AVR Studio. It’s a pain in the butt, but if I can’t get the ‘TCF1’ undeclared issue sorted out, this will have to do.

The point of this post is to say that now I can work on the code for my quadcopter.

Leave a Reply

