tinyCopter Updates

Whoops! This was supposed to be posted almost a week ago! Ah well…

So, time for some updates on tinyCopter. I finally ordered propellers! The ones I got are GWS 3-blade 7×3.5 in both normal and reverse rotation. I ordered them from RC Dude Hobbies, and they shipped all the way from Nevada to Michigan in just 2 days! And that was standard shipping! I am really happy with their service, and will order from them in the future.

Once I got the props installed on the motors, I fired one up, using my Arduino to generate the servo signals. I had the copter in my vice, so I loosened it up and upped the throttle. The end started to pull upward, indicating that with all four motors going, there will be plenty of lift.

tinyCopter - Propellers

You can also see in the picture a purple PCB next to the battery. That is a 2 cell LiPo charger based on the LT3652 from Linear. I have it set to the full 2 amp charging current it supports, and my 1300mAH battery says it is rated for a 5C charging current – which seems quite high if you ask me – so I should be good to go there. Still, I might charge it outside the first couple of times, just to be extra safe. You can find the files for it up on GitHub.

Leave a Reply

