Revision C Updates

Along with any revision comes along changes, and this one is no different. First off, let me start off by saying that I am not abandoning the MPU-6050. It is a excellent chip, but it is not all-powerful. I am moving to a more traditional setup with this revision, with a separate accelerometer, gyroscope, and magnetometer. The accelerometer will be an ADXL345 from Analog Devices, the gyroscope will be the venerable ITG-3200 from InvenSense, and the magnetometer will be the HMC5883 from Honeywell. The reason for the switch to this setup is because of the lack of examples for the MPU-6050, and because I found out about the AeroQuad project.

The Xmega is also getting downsized. I finally came to the conclusion that I don’t need ALL of the pins on an A3, so an A4 will be replacing it. This is both to help reduce the size of the board, and to become compatible with the Akafuino X, an Arduino compatible powered by an Xmega A4. Also, just for kicks, I am going to overclock it. I’ve heard of people going as high as 80MHz with the Xmega, so I might as well give it a try. The specific one that I plan on using is the version with USB capability, but I will just use a FT232 for communication.

There will also be multiple ways to power the board. All options go through an AP1117 3.3V regulator, but now there is more than one way to get there. The main input is through a standard JST connector. The secondary input comes from the BEC circuit on one of the motor ESC’s. The third option isn’t useful during flight, but is there anyway, and that is through USB.

So, quite a big turn in the project at this point, but I think these changes will be for the best. I (and many of my friends) want to see this thing fly, and fly well. Development will continue on Rev B, as I want to get that MPU-6050 up in the air.

This thing is looking to be quite a dense bugger.

Leave a Reply

